Hawaiian Wedding Cake with Whipped Cream-Cream Cheese Frosting

So far this week has been uneventful. We are trying to transition school assignments from one grade to the next. Not a lot of excitement, just a  relaxing pace here! 😉

A few years ago I made this Hawaiian wedding cake for my husband and he really enjoyed it. I kind of forgot about it until the other day when I found it in my recipes. I tweaked the recipe a little to bring out the natural flavors and added a cream cheese frosting made with whipping cream.

For the cake you will need:

1 cup white sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 tsp baking soda
2 cups all-purpose flour
2 eggs
1 (20 ounce) can crushed pineapple with juice
1 cup finely chopped (or crushed) walnuts
3/4 cup flaked coconut
1 tsp cinnamon
1/8 tsp nutmeg
1 tsp salt
1 tsp vanilla

Mix all of your dry ingredients together in a bowl.

Then mix in the eggs, vanilla and crushed pineapple with all of the juice.

Pour into a well greased pan 9″ round or 9″X13″ rectangle

Bake for about 35 – 40 minutes at 350 degrees (or until toothpick in the center comes out clean). You can serve it this way if you want…or you can kick it up a notch with a simple creamy whipped cream-cream cheese frosting!

For Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting you will need

1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese (let it come to room temperature for easier blending)
1 cup white sugar
1/8 tsp salt
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups heavy whipping cream

In a small bowl beat whipping cream until stiff peaks form; set aside.In a large bowl combine cream cheese, sugar, salt and vanilla. Beat until smooth.

Gently fold the cream cheese mixture and whipped cream together.

I topped mine with a little toasted coconut. 🙂

Linking to:
Cast Party Wednesday

StoneGable

In The Old Road

 

48 thoughts on “Hawaiian Wedding Cake with Whipped Cream-Cream Cheese Frosting

  1. This looks soooo good. Next time I have a family get-together, this WILL be dessert. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
    Im now following you. Please come visit me at PICKINandPAINTIN.blogspot.com and maybe you’ll follow back??? THANKS.

  2. wow ,, I gained 3 lbs seeing the cake photo and lusting for it LOL..

    found you at DebbieDoos newbie party.
    your newest follower
    Sonny

  3. Oh, how I wish I had a piece of this right now! Pineapple, coconut, whipping cream, cream cheese ~ just has to be fantastic. I’m over from Debbiedoo’s and a new follower.

    Stop by and say hi when you can!
    Pat

  4. Pingback: Lady Behind the Curtain » Cast Party Wednesday: Link Party #44

  5. I just made a carrot cake last night for a dinner party – wish I’d seen this recipe instead – it’s the same but so different – love the coconut and pineapple, something I add to my carrot cake all the time.
    Thanks for linking up to the All Star Block Party – I’m one of the co-hosts.

    I’m pinning this recipe so I don’t forget it.

  6. I seriously got goosebumps when I saw the photo of this cake… yes I am a cake addict …. lol I can’ t wait to try this..
    Thanks so much for linking up to our ALL STARS BLOCK PARTY.. I’m your newest follower and I sure hope we see you again next week.. =)

    Carri
    simplydonewright.blogspot.com

  7. I’m not a fan of coconut but it looks good! Do you think you could leave the coconut out? Thanks for linking up to the All Star Block Party!

  8. In the South, we call this recipe a “Hummingbird Cake”. It is also very close to an Italian Creme Cake. All are excellent and oh so sweet!! Beautiful pictures!

  9. I used your frosting recipe in a carrot cake trifle recipe….IT IS SO YUMMY!! Very sweet, just the way I like it!!! Thank you, I referred to it in my Pin on pinterest!!

  10. I just used this recipe and it was AWESOME! I made cupcakes instead of a cake because they were for a party. Everyone loved them!

Leave a comment